Morrissey

S – T – E – V – E – N has to cancel a show that I couldn’t get tickets to at The National, over in the city.  So what?  I have his voice captured on plastic in the form of discs that are read by a laser.  With that in mind, I have compiled what I consider a comprehensive collection – the very best of the man who’s heart is full… (Note: the album of origin is included in parentheses)

Disc 1

Sing Your Life (Kill Uncle)
That’s How People Grow Up (Years of Refusal)
Glamorous Glue (Your Arsenal)
Hairdresser on Fire (Bona Drag)
I Like You (You Are The Quarry)
My Dearest Love (Swords)
I Know It’s Gonna Happen Someday (Your Arsenal)
Alsatian Cousin (Viva Hate)
Shame Is The Name (Swords)
The Last of the International Playboys (Bona Drag)
Jack The Ripper (B-Side Single to Certain People I Know)
November Spawned A Monster (Bona Drag)
Do Your Best and Don’t Worry (Southpaw Grammar)
I Have Forgiven Jesus (You Are The Quarry)
There’s A Place In Hell For Me And My Friends (Live At KROQ)
Let Me Kiss You (You Are The Quarry)
Everyday Is Like Sunday (Viva Hate)
You’re Gonna Need Somebody On Your Side (Your Arsenal)
Why Don’t You Find Out For Yourself (Vauxhall and I)
The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get (Vauxhall and I)
One Day Goodbye Will Be Farewell (Years of Refusal)
Tomorrow (Your Arsenal)

Disc 2

You Have Killed Me (Ringleader of the Tormentors)
Satan Rejected My Soul (Maladjusted)
That’s Entertainment (B-Side Single to Sing Your Life)
Such A Little Thing Makes A Big Difference (Bona Drag)
Journalists Who Lie (B-Side Single to Our Frank)
Certain People I Know (The World of Morrissey)
Piccadilly Palare (Bona Drag)
Sister I’m A Poet (My Early Burglary Years)
Girl Least Likely To (My Early Burglary Years)
We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful (Single)
Spring-Heeled Jim (The World of Morrissey)
Interesting Drug (Bona Drag)
The Boy Racer (Southpaw Grammar)
The Loop (World of Morrissey)
Will Never Marry (Bona Drag)
My Love Life (The World of Morrissey)
All You Need Is Me (Years of Refusal)
Black Cloud (Years of Refusal)
Now My Heart Is Full (Vauxhall and I)
We’ll Let You Know (The World of Morrissey)
Irish Blood, English Heart (You Are The Quarry)
Speedway (Vauxhall and I)

After I compiled the second disc, I kept thinking that there was no way Suedehead doesn’t make the cut for the second CD. For some reason, though it’s a classic, I have never really thought it was that great musically and lyrically. Yet is haunted me. So, I rethought the order of the tracks and replaced six of the songs with six others and so I made…

Disc 2 (v. 2)

I Don’t Mind If you Forget Me (Viva Hate)
The Loop (World Of Morrissey)
You Have Killed Me (Ringleader of the Tormentors)
Journalists Who Lie (B-Side Single to Our Frank)
Sister I’m A Poet (My Early Burglary Years)
We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful (Single)
Yes, I Am Blind (B-Side Single to Oija Board, Oija Board)
Piccaddily Palare (Bona Drug)
Spring-Heeled Jim (The World of Morrissey)
My Love Life (The World of Morrissey)
Interlude w/ Siouxsie Sioux (Single)
Will Never Marry (Bona Drag)
That’s Entertainment (B-Side Single to Sing Your Life)
Moon River (Single)
Suedehead (Viva Hate)
We’ll Let You Know (The World of Morrissey)
Irish Blood, English Heart (You Are The Quarry)
Speedway (Vauxhall and I)
Black Cloud (Years of Refusal)
The Boy Racer (Southpaw Grammar)
Disappointed (Bona Drag)
Now My Heart Is Full (Vauxhall and I)

 

Leave a Reply

