Journal: 8/13/2011

Recent activities:

  • Joined Weight Watcher’s.  Wife joined at work.  My work needed a body to join.  So far, so good.  I’m right around 197.  It’s definitely a different experience at the grocery store looking at food in terms of points.  But, it’s a balanced approach, as far as I can see. Nearly all veggies and fruits don’t count.  My daily point allotment is 40.  In the future, when the food rationing comes, this will be the way everyone has to eat.  Just joking.  But, it does seem like a good rationing scheme, eh?
  • Purchased an Alesis MultiMix8 USB 2.0 mixer.  It hooks up to the laptop and allows for all inputs to be picked up individually in recording software.  I use a Digital Audio Workstation (DAW) piece of software called Reaper.  With the USB mixer multiple instruments can be performed and recorded individually.  With a standard mixer, the connection to the computer is through the main stereo jack.  This allows only one stereo signal to be recorded at a time into the DAW.  The upshot is that each individual instrument is part of the mix and, once recorded, cannot be separated.  However, with the USB mixer. each individual instrument is recorded on its own track and therefore can be manipulated after recording.  Advantages?  Expanded creativity and time savings.
  • Reading.  Books surrounding me right now are:  Perelandra by C.S. Lewis, The Symposium by Plato and All The King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren.  I’m terrible at keeping a reading schedule these days.  I kinda just like to have the books around, in some stage of mental consumption.  But, I’ll get around to reading them all at some point.  Well, maybe not all.  No sooner had I ordered All The King’s Men as part of Norm McDonald’s book club (see @normsbookclub on Twitter) that I landed, at random, on one of the movie channels showing a film version of the book, right at the end.  They call that a ‘spoiler’.  My interest died.
  • Music.  The rock snob’s penchant for hating the band Rush notwithstanding I have recently obtained their entire catalog on CD, including all remastered items.  What I found in my hunt for these is that the remastered version of the album ‘Presto’ (released in 1989) has a disc that is indistinguishable from the original version.  Therefore, used CD outlets can easily confuse the original version for the remastered version.  I found this out after ordering the remastered version used off of Amazon and while driving around in my truck, which has a decent stereo system (for factory stock), and not being happy with the sound with what I heard.  The sound was tinny, with no heft in the bass, and subpar stereo separation.  I ordered the CD new from Amazon and, although the identical item by looks, the new version sounded quite a lot better.
  • In addition to the Rush, the following CD’s are sitting around me: Sonic Youth’s Live Performance at the 2003 Anthology Film Archives, Red, Hot & Rio (Various Artists), Lady GaGa’s Born This Way (Deluxe Edition), A Portrait of Aldo Nova (Compilation), Laibach’s Sympathy For The Devil E.P., and the Digipak edition of U2’s Achtung Baby. A strange menagerie indeed.
Leave a Reply

