Overheard Political Discussion

“You said you hate politics?”

“Who doesn’t?”

“Politicians!”

“Right and lobbyists.”

“Politics is its own industry… journalists, newspapers?”

“Yeah.”

“Do you really think… I mean, is it fair to say that democracy is kind of a joke?”

“Duh.”

“Yeah… I hate to say it, but I don’t think it makes any difference whether I vote or not.”

“Voting is a popularity contest.”

“I don’t feel like I ever know who I’m voting for.”

“Well, unless you’ve got loads of time to reseach a bunch of boring stuff, you won’t know.”

“Why do people vote?”

“Same reason they look at horoscopes and carry a lucky rabbit’s foot.”

“They’re superstitious?”

“Well, it’s all based on a need to control things you know you really can’t.”

“So, democracy, really, is like a superstitition?”

“I guess so.”

“What’s really going on though? I mean, do you think there’s this big shadow government that rules the world and we’re just pawns.”

“Uh… I think that’s probably not true. Who really knows, but I think the idea that we have ‘freedom’ is pretty much a bunch of crap.”

“Why do you say that? I can go out and do pretty much what I want.”

“Yeah, if you have money.”

“Well, duh… you have to have money.”

“Right. So I guess I’m saying that the idea that you are born with certain freedoms is a crock. Because really it depends on how much money you have. The more money you have the more freedom you have. It’s a lopsided system.”

“Well, it’s not like you’re in jail or a slave or whatever.”

“What’s the difference?”

“What do you mean?”

“If I have to work everyday to make money to afford the things I need to live a normal life, you know, a decent lifestyle, not standing in lines waiting for soup, I’m not much different than a slave.”

“But you choose where you work and you can quit and get another job.”

“Can I? How easy is that? You think it’s easy to find a decent job that pays well without working most of the time?”

“Yeah.. I see your point.”

“People want to pretend they’re important because they stay late at work and they do nothing but work all the time and that makes them better people or something, but it makes them slaves is what it is.”

“Well, I’ve never seen it as any different from the way society has always been. There are the have’s and the have-not’s and we’re probably doing better now than ever at people being the have’s, don’t you think? I mean, the harder you work, the more money you get.”

“That’s not always the case. Plus, there’s always work to be done. So the more work you do, the more work keeps coming. If you don’t stop and live your life sometime, you’ll end up working until you keel over and that’s it. Then what is the money good for?”

“Well, everybody takes some time off now and then. Plus, you have to be accountable for yourself, right? You can’t expect to have things handed to you. And you should know what you want to do with your life early on. That’s what school is for.”

“I guess. But I see the problem as power-trippers who want to control everything and have as much money and power as possible and they’re like competing with other power-trippers and that’s actual democracy… it’s all the power-trippers fighting each other for control over pushing everyone else around.”

“That’s harsh.”

“I know.”

“You really think… well, who do you mean are power trippers?”

“Well, look at the stock market right?”

“So?”

“Well, you have all these public corporations and the idea is that anybody with money can own stock in them.”

“Yeah. I guess. I never understood economics.”

“Well, trust me on this… that’s the way it’s perceived. But, there are plenty of non-public corporations that are completely controlled by whoever owns them. Nobody can tell them what to do. Now, see, that’s freedom. These corporations don’t even have to obey the law because they don’t have to stay in one place, one country… they can put their headquarters anywhere and operate.”

“Come on… there have to be laws against that stuff. I mean, the government controls things. They don’t just let people not pay taxes or whatever. Right?”

“Nope. The government is controlled by these types of people… these huge multinational corporations that answer to no one.”

“You’re just trying to scare me.”

“You got me. Are you scared?”

“What do you think?”

“I think you’re so very scared.”

“Yeah… politics is so damn scary. What do you really think is going on though.. I mean, I don’t think about it much, but….”

“What’s really going is, you live and you love, and you eventually fall off the planet and you go who knows where, but we never really die and politics is the most irrelevant thing we could possibly talk about right now, so why aren’t you kissing me?”

[they kiss]

[End]

Leave a Reply

