Chain E-Mail

Message just received from a former colleague via e-mail:

“I PLEDGE ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG, OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, AND TO THE REPUBLIC, FOR WHICH IT STANDS, ONE NATION UNDER GOD, INDIVISIBLE, WITH LIBERTY AND JUSTICE FOR ALL! I was asked to send this on if I agree or delete if I don’t. What do you think about this? It is said that 86% of Americans believe in God. Therefore I have a very hard time understanding why there is such a mess about having “In God! We Trust” on our money and having God in the Pledge of Allegiance. Why don’t we just tell the 14% to Sit Down and BE QUIET!!! If you agree, pass this on, if not delete. I AGREE!!!!”



I know that the intentions of the sender of this e-mail are fairly innoucuos. However, the message itself, passed along from one God-fearing soul to another, sounds like an excuse for mob rule. A Democracy that does not protect minority rights is tyranny. More to the point, ‘God’ is not understood by everyone in the same way. In fact, ‘God’ has become a catch-all concept that has become virtually meaningless. The whole subject is meaningless anyway. Swearing allegiance to the flag is about as useful an activity as catching a cold. Money spends the same way whether or not it declares that we trust in God or Alan Greenspan.

One thought on “Chain E-Mail

  1. If we were in a bar, this would be the part where I raise my mug and say something along the lines of, “Here here.”Or maybe I’d just fall off the chair, I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

